Do I have any chance of realizing my dream?

I’m 24 years old. I have loved baseball my entire life but have never played in a competitive game. Besides playing catch as a kid, and taking a couple of hacks in the batting cage as a teenager, I have no baseball experience. There are several reasons I didn’t play baseball growing up although I wanted to. I grew up in NYC, my schools didn’t have teams, my family was too poor to have me place in non-school leagues, etc. The bottom line is I didn’t play.

My dream is to be able to pitch in competitive baseball.

I consider myself reasonably athletic. I’m left handed, 5 11, 152 - 155 pounds. I can sprint fast, have a good vertical leap and reaction time.

I work out, bike ride about 400 miles a month, and have a strong core.

What do you think of my goal? I know when I say “competitive baseball”, that is vague. I mean I would like to be able to pitch in an adult hardball league. However, the sky is the limit. If I find myself throwing an 85 MPH fastball with a biting 78 MPH slider, I’m definitely trying out for professional baseball.

I’m seeking advice as to whether any of this is even close to being realistic. And if it is, how should I get started?

If I decide to go through with this, I’ll start a blog on here with daily updates that will include pictures and videos.

Thanks very much in advance for your help!

If you love it then the better question is why not? If you don’t give it a shot you might regret it. Go for it.

Gotta start throwing, 3-4 days a week minimum. Just throw, play catch find out if you have the desire to make it as fun as some of us find it.

Thanks guys. So just go out and start throwing the ball? Any arm strength training I should look into before I go out there?

I’m also considering hiring a coach, or at least find a guy who’s pitched before who’ll so me the basics.

Not a bad idea to look for a coach to teach the basics.