Daddy Coaches

I’ve seen the phrase “daddy coach” bandied about on this site - with extreme derision. What are “daddy coaches”? As a Dad and a coach, I am curious.

We aren’t near as bad as other sites on the issue, but loosely, a “daddy coach” is a guy who sets up a team for the aggrandizement of his kid…to the exclusion of other talent. We here mostly focus on player/pitcher development but occasionally we’ll get someone frustrated by this and it will spur discussion.
I was a dad and a coach but I was, as a rule, tougher on my kids than the other guys I let them reach whatever level they wanted and worked very actively to develop all of the players on the squad. Daddy coaches" are generally all about the glory and living vicariously through Jr.

A “daddy coach” is a guy who coaches to assure his son plays a position he has no business playing. The brand of ball they play is “daddy ball”. Not all fathers that coach are “daddy coaches”. Some are very good.

perfect definition, Mike.

Can a coach be a good coach and still play his son in positions several other team members can play equally well or better? Would this be a “Daddy coach”?

“buddy ball” is where someone previously managing in “daddy ball” decides to form a team around his son comprised of all his buddies’ sons to circumvent the town league’s pesky draft process. Usually forming an AAU team or something similar.

:smiley:

“panic ball” is when that kid gets to be HS age and the “daddy” comes to the realization that he can no longer be his son’s head coach, buys the HS a new pitching machine days before the “tryout” to ensure a spot for his presumptive future major college and MLB-bound son.

:roll:

If there are better players at a certain position, then why would the coach play his son there. He can still be a good coach and make selfish decisions.

If that coach, good or bad, is playing his son at a position over a more talented kid who is better suited for that position, then Yep, Daddy Coach.