Cutter Fastball

Gentlemen,

First time to this site, so please excuse any ignorance on my part if I show any.

My question, I’m a coach for 12-13 year old boys. At the end of last season a couple of my 12-year olds were throwing a cutter on occasion. I know curves and sliders are a no-no at this age, but someone told me that a cutter has no long term effects like that of the “bender” pitches, in that it is just like a fastball and/or changeup in posing any harm to their young arms.

Can someone confirm or deny this fact? I want to approach this with the right amount of caution this winter.

Thank you. What a great site!

Bob

A cut fastball, if thrown correctly will treat your arm just like a fastball.

The grip should be slightly off centered and the ball should be thrown like a fastball. Just don’t let your kids get their hand on the side of the ball. Stay behind it, and get your fingers on top.

A cutter or cut-fastball should be perfectly fine for them to learn. Just make sure that they are throwing it properly.

i believe you should teach them how to get movement arm side instead of glove side. get their fastball to tail using pronation and 2-seamers. it’s easier to get the tailing action on a fastball and really at 12 year old you don’t have to foul the batter making him wonder on which side of the plate it’s going to break. a tailling fastball is all they need. remember also that roy halladay from the toronto blue jays went on disabled list and attributed it from using the cutter too often. so if it was really like a fastball, i don’t think he would have made that statement.

Hi Bob. Welcome aboard.