Cross-Training Sports in Offseason

Hey everybody, I started playing Badminton this winter in high school just for fun. I feel that it is a great sport regarding footwork (quickness) and arm strenght when swinging the raquet. Do you guys feel that it would be benifical. Also is there any other sports/activitys that take place in the winter that would be good for baseball crosstraining.

Thanks and have a happy holidays.

if you’re serious about baseball, you should spend the offseason training for it.

I know this is not specific to your actual question, but may I suggest something that might not be healthy for you - like weird sports.

I had brothers on one club that brought a collection of boomerangs to the field - we were given permission to use a municipal soccer field for some early season tossing and I thought it would be a good idea. I had no idea that boomerangs would be the center of our day.

Myself and another coach left the group and walked over to an field house to check in and sign some waiver papers. We started talking to the people in the house when one of the players came running over and wanted to know if we brought a first aid kit - nothing serious he said, it’s just that his brother got dinged by two of the boomerangs!

How in blazes did get hit twice? Was he stupid enough to get knuckled once, then stand up and walk into the same thing a second time!??

It seemed that these bright-lights brought five boomerangs to the field and let them all fly at once … then they lost track of exactly where those things were. Needless to say, everyone thought it was kind of neat till they realized that these things gotta start landing somewhere!

To make a long story short - the guy required about dozen stitches to the back of his head. But, he did have a great season that year. In fact, long after the stitches came out … the nickname boomerang stuck with the guy for years.

Coach B.