Core work or weight lifting

yeh im a freshman highschool pitcher i was just wondering to gain more velocity in pitching would it be bettr to do more core work or use the weights and lift

Core work.

A proper weight lifting program combined with core work will get you on your way. Do not limit yourself to core work because you may just end up just doing ab work and that is not core work.

Talk to some of the guys on this board, they can help out with a good lifting program. Be sure not to just go in the weight room and start randomly lifting…it has to be done right.

When you do lift properly and with good form, your core gets worked just in stabilizing and moving your body. That’s more beneficial than just doing 500 crunches. Med Ball work is great for pitching as well.

Neither is really THE answer, but both are extremely effective in a complete program.

If you have done most of your growing, don’t be afraid to push some weights. You can get one heck of a core from doing weightlifting alone. Now when I’m talking about weightlifting I mean freeweight, compound movements. Squats and deadlifts will give you strength everywhere, and other lifts that require the stabilizing of your body throughout the lift also build the core, power cleans, bent rows, pull ups, dips

If your interested in getting more specific info on lifting let me know, and I’m sure some other guys will lend a hand in getting into baseball lifting.

As far as core work, this is good as well, but like palo said, core work, not necessarily ab work. Medicine ball is great for work, and then there are tons of other ways to work the core. Russians twists would probably be my favorite core exercise.

core work no lifting not good for pitchers. A pitcher will not be flexiblie enough after weight lifting even with flexiblity programe. I’m in a this sounds weird but the best thing to do is to go to a good Dr. in physical therapy like i am its helping so much. They give u tons of stuff to do.