College lefty pitcher (videos included)

hey guys. im a freshman in college in the north east and i’m going to be red shirting this spring because of upcoming surgery on my torn left hip labrum. since i won’t be able to work with the coaching staff, i thought i’d put this vid of me throwing in early january 2011 (for the first time off a mound in a few months) up and try to get some feedback. i throw consistently 86-88, and have hit 90, but am looking for more mph. if anyone has advice to offer i’d appreciate it.

on a side note, creative/alternative core strengthening suggestions (for this spring while i’m inactive) that i could use in addition to whatever the strength coach has me do would be great.

Your one of the best that I have seen lately. You posture is exceptional. The only things I see are a little higher knee , Turn the hips ( lead a little more with butt), and increase your stride. Your attitude is great . People think they have surgery and just stop working out. You won’t be able to do this but for your core my favorite by far Kettle Bell get ups. This is great for Baseball . Best of Luck.

I agree with the great posture but dont feel that way on the leg kick, I don’t think it should be higher, I think the leg should come about parallel. On the stride, yes I think you definately can get maybe up to a foot farther down the mound…good luck with your surgery.

You will be on a specific rehab program for your hip repair. You may even start PT as early as the day after your surgery. Early on, they will probably not want you doing anything else so heed their advice. My son has had both hips repaired so I’m quite familiar with the process.

Good luck with your surgery.