Collapsing Back Leg

Ok, I could use a little help. I’m a D-1 pitcher with professional aspirations. I threw about a week ago and did very well number’s wise, hits, strikeouts, got the win, etc. A scout at the game told me he had me at 88-89, which isn’t bad, but I know I’ve got more in me. He told me that I’d be better served if I was able to stay taller on my back leg and throw the ball down hill a little more, that I could tap into my leverage (I’m 6’5) and squeeze out a few more mph’s. He said that I’m 6’5 but throw the ball like i’m 6’0. I typically take about a 6 foot stride. Now that I’ve tried staying taller i’m taking about a 5.5 foot stride. It feels like I’m not building nearly as much momentum, and I feel like I’m cutting myself off and not getting as much extension. Does anyone have any suggestions to combat collapsing the back leg while still building momentum? Sorry, I don’t have any recent film, I’m sure that would help. Thanks.

go further faster while maintaining your posture and balance.

That scout just said nothing helpful…
(Telling someone to stay taller does not help the person realize physically how to pitch)

practice practice practice

You need to practice every day and if you throw 90+ with good control and offspeed, and you understand HOW to pitch, then you’re fine barring any injury (which you should be conditioning for).

Here’s an opinion of someone who’s been studying House’s philosophy, Mills’, and Setpro…

The scout as many do, was concentrating on the downward plane of the pitch he’d like to see on a very tall guy. There’s a big difference between downward plane and a straighter pitch vs. developing velocity.

Mechanically, I see no way that velocity can be elevated by reducing a stride length, UNLESS somehow there is more seperation and torque created between the hips and torso. Additionally, there has to be less momentum developed towards home plate and I would think less explosion and less velocity.