Chauncey's Fall Practice Log

Well, this year I figured I would keep a log of my progress during the fall. First of all, for those who don’t know (probably most of you) I play college ball at Newberry College (DII). I’m a sophomore this year and I’m competing for a job in the weekend rotation. So far this fall we’ve been mainly conditioning during the mornings at 5:00 am and 6 on 1’s during the afternoons.

As of today during my 6 on 1 group, we threw our first bullpens of the fall. We’re starting a bit earlier this year becuase we are playing exhibition games against Juco schools; so we’re trying to game ready for our first game in two weeks. Anyways, our pitching coach uses these first bullpens as not only a tune-up, but he uses the bullpens to see what everyone has done over the summer. I worked very hard this summer so I was eager to show my improvements. As we started to crank up and get into our bullpens we always start out throwing 10 fastballs, 5 to each side of the plate. Then today it was 5 change-ups and 5 breaking balls, then end on 5 of what ever you wanted with the last pitch being a fastball.

Our pitching coach has other pitchers charting our bullpens, keeping track of missed spots and velocities. Our coach wanted us to have an accuracy rating of 60% or higher for the first bullpen of the fall. Last year during our first pen I wanted to impress the coaches and throw gas and I wound up having an accuracy rating of 45%… So this year I was focused on just pounding the mitt and throwing hard strikes. Today my two-seamer had really good action and my curveball was very sharp. The Change-up has definately made improvements from last year as well. I chucked a few sliders in there as well but this pitch is still devloping; it had tight spin but not quite the break I’m looking for.