Catcher moving before the pitcher moves first?

Hi,

I was at the field the other day and I was watching a team intentionally walk a batter and the catcher jumped out of the catcher’s box before the pitcher started any movement to home plate and the umpire called a balk…is this a balk? what should’ve happened?

Yes the pitcher needs to start his motion then the catcher can leave the catchers box.

All defenders have to be in the field of play except the catcher who must be in the catchers box, otherwise it is a defensive “balk”. Even the 1st and 3rd basemen must be in the field of play prior to the pitcher making his first move. Many 1st and 3rd basemen hold the runner on by putting their outside foot in foul ground, this should also be a defensive “balk”.