Can a 90mph fastball get you drafted?

figuring that you have a change up and a breaking pitch. That is my goal and i believe it is possible. Thats if i roll my dice right. i got a lot more growing to do, my mechanics need lots of work(just found out i have been throwing all with my arm for the past three years) and my strengh and conditioning program is now perfect(i have also been lifting wrong thus hindering my results. Everyones thoughts please how much hard sweat and work does it accually take to make it?

It depends… Can you spot that 90 mph fast ball anywhere in the zone? How are your secondary pitches: Good change, Curve? Possibly a filthy slider?

If you can compete with the best, and show poise on the mound, you can make it!

Reaching 90 is great, but there are plenty of people throwing 90 plus now… Think along the lines of uniqueness, or showing something that you may posess that others may lack. I’m sure there are people throwing 95 plus, but don’t have the mentality to pitch in the big leagues.

I don’t know, I guess it depends on the circumstances, and whether or not the scout/managers thinks you have potential. Anyways, I wish you the best of luck! I, too, hope to pitch 90 plus someday!

thanks for your response, i believe you are right you have got to be unique and have a good work ethic. right now its all school and baseball, i have made lot s of sacrifices and plan to make more it is just matter of how bad you want it.

out of curiosity what do you mean when you say youve been lifting wrong?

When lifting wrong i mean bodybuilding style for a long time I just wanted to be big and didnt worry about if it transfered to baseball.

90 mph fastball thrown sidearm if thats what you do will help you to get drafted easily but a 90 mph fastball thrown 3/4 will just be a notice.

yup thats what i do Im topping out at 81mph now so i got quite a bit to go

talking real sidearm not low 3/4

Im talking about truely side-arm