Building High School Program: Need Mentor

I am a volunteer coach for my local baseball team. I am 30 years old and have played and coached baseball. I care about kids and want to help them be successful in whatever they choose to do. I currently coach at a small school of about 300 students total K-12. This is my first year coaching in this area. The main sport at this school has been basketball . The baseball team has been struggling for years. I want this to stop and for students to take interest in baseball.

I have had 2 meetings and had over 27 kids sign up. about 10 of them play basketball and aren’t allowed to play or practice baseball until their season is over which is usually mid-March. Our season begins the first week of March. So there are 17 other students that signed up and said they wanted to play baseball.

Come practice time I have 3 kids show up. I asked the three who showed up where was everyone else and they said, “They all said it was too cold coach”. Keep in mind we have a field house we can practice in. The kids act like they just don’t care. My entire playing and coaching career I have had no problems like this. There has always been interest every where I have gone but, these students show no desire to play baseball other than going to a meeting and signing up. Each player has a practice schedule that was given to them at the meeting and were instructed on the procedures of a canceled practice. Still only 3 players show up.

Any suggestions? Anyone care to exchange emails with me through out the season? I need to help these kids and I am open for any suggestions.

Coach Meeker

Your situation is not all that unusual. In fact, in many schools - where one or two programs (boys) seem to dominate, baseball and others can take a back seat in every department. Money, booster support, and so forth.