Breaking Balls

Hey guys. Just a couple questions. Im 15 years old turing 16 in october. Im a freshman in high school and played on JV this year. From the day i starting pitching i threw only fastballs till 13 (7th grade in Middle School). My change up has really developed and my best pitch. My fastball isn’t very fast but i no if i keep working out throwing and get older i will increase velocity. The varsiety coach taught me a slider (throw and turn breaking ball) and another coach taught me a curveball.

Am i old enough to start throwing a breaking ball?
What pitch is safer to throw - throw and turn breaking ball or curveball?
Has anyone throwin both, which do you perfer?

since youre asking for opinions, id say forget about the slider if you dont throw fast enough, if your fastball is below average the slider is only a flat curve, meaning it doesnt travel fast enough to be used how the slider is intended to, the slider being used to foul a hitter by making him think it’s a fastball until it dips out of strike zone or straight back into it. the curveball is a pitch that comes out slow, is used to mess up the hitter’s timing and foul him by the amount of mouvement the ball has.

hmmm…I threw both. Most guys are better with one or the other.

Sliders need to have good fastball meachnics and tight rotation-lack of good rotation can mean a hanging slider or one that backs up. Generally guys that throw hard are better with the slider.

Curveballs are more forgiving because of the change in speed and the downward break, and you can change speeds on a curve -Tom Gordon does this-so does Bronson Arroyo.

At 15 1/2 you’re a little too young for the slider (probably a year away). Remember you can only get good at a pitch by practicing it. If you dont have the mechanics of one down, it will blur into the other-not a good deal. (also please see Steve’s article about 3 pitches being enough).