Best Way To Gain Velocity

What is the best way to gain velocity on your fastball while maintaning a healthy arm?
How are high schoolers able to throw 90+ as 16-17-18 year olds?

Some of it’s genetics. You know, body size, height, etc. A lot of it is just plain throwing, though. Many of the harder throwing pitchers at the prep level train year round and throw 9-10 months a year, which is essentially a college or pro routine.

Keep working hard my friend!

Yeah, thanks.
Im throwing about 80-83 right now…you think im on the right track towards throwing 95 by senior year steven?
(p.s. Im a sophomore)

I’m not Steven, King, but 95…likely not…could happen…but moving into the hi 80’s is a very distict possibility.
The thing King is this…have command of your pitches, condition and train like it’s hangin with your best girl and keep those grades as good as you have them and you will be a D-1 caliber pitcher. There is no shame in not hitting mid-90’s before the end of high school, in fact it may save you from injury. I personally believe the injuries you see in high school are due to guys not being in the physical shape and attempting to throw in a sustained manner, at a velocity their body cannot support. Grow incrementally with your body first and have your velocity follow. It’s why so many guys jump velo once they do get in college because the programs condition a player so much better than any of the High School programs out there. Be relentless in your quest, but also be patient…remember you had to crawl to walk and walk to run, run to sprint…things come in there time, it’s part of what it takes to make it in the art.

Perhaps. I mean, it’s a good goal to have. But the time frame needs to be realistic based on a number of variables. I didn’t ever throw a pitch over 88 mph in high school, though. First time I hit 90 mph was the summer following my sophomore year in college.