Best pitches for a high school pitcher?

I’m a freshman on the JV high school team. I have good control with my fastball and 2 seam. I’m working on a splitter and have been having some success. I’m wondering, what other pitches I should learn, that will be the most effective at my level?

Stick with those, you don’t need anymore. The splitter would still concern me though try a change-up instead.

replace the splitter with a changeup for sure. i would wait atleast 1 year to mess around with breaking pitches. wait to get proper instruction from a coach or someone who knows hows to throw one.

I’ve done some research and a splitter (or at least the one i try to throw) doesn’t have any twisting or snapping of my elbow. I keep my wrist lose and throw it like a fastball. I have also been experimenting with a circle change (my coach is a big fan of the pitch). Do you suggest and pitches with horizontal movement?

A good change-up should get some horizontal movement, if you turn it over or pronate at release it should have a slight screwball action. Work on getting some movement on your fastball too.

I liked my circle change but my coach didn’t. He showed me when I made the the OK, or circle, it caused the tendon in the back of my arm to get tight and stick up and he said that tension could cause problems. He taught me a split change where I kind of slide the index finger down just off of the 2 seam grip. I throw it like a sinker with a lilttle pronation. Took awhile to get used to it but it works better than my old circle change now.

Some kind of a change-up would be better. The change-up is a great pitch.

IMO the two most important aspects of pitching are location and change of speed. The change-up is the most under rated pitch yet it can be one of the most effective.

There’s a couple pro pitchers who would agree with that but they’e not very well known. I think their names are Trevor Hoffman and Greg Maddux. :wink: