Being able to see faults

I am new on this site, but think it is terrific. I coach little league 9 and 10 year olds and this is my first year teaching pitching. There are some people on this site that can look at a video and know…“this is what can be improved on” and I just don’t see it. Is there certain things to look for? It is one thing trying to teach the right thing from the start it is another picking out why they are having a hard time getting the ball over the plate. I want these kids to learn properly now so it is easier later.

Thank you for all the great advice on hear

Welcome Bruno!

It’s good to hear that there are people out there that want to teach kids the newer techniques as opposed to the old, conventional wisdom.

If you hang around here for a bit you’ll quickly learn what to look for and how to go about fixing it.

My recommendation is to go into the pitching mechanics and analysis thread and watch the clips then read what people have to say.

Good advice from Offset.

Knowing what to look for takes going through a learning process. And that process is never ending. Even today I still encounter people who look at different things than I or they look at the same things but in a different way. So I continue to learn from others. You won’t be able to learn it all instantly. It will take time.

Also, there is a difference between knowing what to look for and having an eye to see things - especially in real time. Video helps level the playing field betweeen those who can and those who can’t. It can also help you develop that eye to see things because you can use it to confirm in slow motion what you think you see in real time. Or, to turn that around, you can see what’s truly happening by watching slow motion and then see what it looks like in real time.