Beginner with questions, please answer :)

Hi, i would like to have the questions i am about to ask answered, i am new at this so please bare with me, first of all i am 14, in my first year of high school, I Havn’t played baseball in a league in around 4 years. But I wanna be a pitcher, i have pretty good command and not bad volicity, I am throwing every day now

my first quesiotn is when you start throwing again (ie. right after winter) when you haven’t thrown in a long time, and your arm isnt used to it, is it usual for your arm ( your shoulder and bicept) to hurt after u throw alot?
For me it did before, i thoguht i strained my arm, and it was like after i threw just a couple of pitches my arm hurt so much i couldn’t even lift it up, right now im waiting for it to be like that because i heard that you should just keep throwing and your arm gets used to it… but then i heard you can even make it worse, whats the real answer?

And for my second, when i go for pitcher on the team, are they looking for any pitches in peticular? Is 14 too young to start throwing a curve?
Can someone tell me what pitches i should know and that isnt bad for my arm and wont ruin it?

Thats it for now… so please try to answer them, it would be really helpful, thanks :slight_smile:

I’m going to answer the first question and let some of the other moderators and forum members tackle the second.

The important thing is to recognize the difference between arm soreness and arm pain. As a “rookie” pitcher, that differentiation can be difficult to make because a good understanding about how your own arm feels comes from using it consistently, which you haven’t been doing for the past few years.

A little soreness is natural; pain is not.