Balk or smart play (2)


#1

I couldn’t find video on it, so I’ll describe it. Lets say there’s a runner on first. Now I go from the windup but stand behind the rubber, making no contact with it and start my windup. The runner will most likely take off to first base and then I just turn and throw to second and get him out. Is that a balk?


#2

Yes. Balk.


#3

Why? I actually wanted to try this haha. I thought if you’re not on the rubber your an infielder?


#4

Executing your delivery while not on the rubber would be an attempt to deceive the runner which is what the balk rules try to prevent.


#5

You have to be in contact with the rubber to begin your pitching motion. If you begin your delivery while not in contact with the rubber it’s a balk. You are better sir to make use of (2014 and prior format) rule 8.01 a comment. You may, in the wind up position, execute a step towards first and throw in an attempt to pick off the runner, however, it can not look like your normal delivery. I will not easily get used to the new rules format. The rule is found in 5.07a1 comment (2015 re-codified rules).


#6

crap i wanted to try it