Arguement

For the sake of arguement (nothing personal please) I’d like to talk a little catching. I’m a catcher and instructor and have been told different things from different instructors/coaches. Just want to hear some point of views on the topic and reasoning…

Lets start with blocking…Attack the ball and go forward, cutting down the angle or kick the feet out and give?

Throwing…transfer as soon as you can or bring it back to the ear and “bow and arrow” or “rake”.

Since I used to play hockey, I block it like a goalie.

When you block, you are supposed to stay loose so whent he ball hits you, it dies. You want it to land just in front of home plate regardless of where it is. There are times when the catcher has to kick out his legs so the ball bounces to home plate.

what do you do with the stick then?[/img]

If you bring the glove back then it needs to go forward before you throw, right? That takes more time. Transfer in front to keep the glove out front and only bring back the hand that needs to go back. IMHO.

vast majority of guys work from the middle of their body for transfer. most professional catching instructors teach working from the middle of your body.

the secret to blocking is reading/anticipating and beating the ball to the spot. this takes time and concentration. you cannot be moving into the ball and soften your body. they talked about this constantly.

Anticipating the pitch and its potential incoming flight path is one of the quality’s of catching
craftsmanship.

I’m no where near the quality of coach to take on the coaching role of catchers - but sometimes
ya got flow with it. But even then, this stuff is not a walk-in-the-park.