Any to calm the nerves

High school tryouts are next wednesday and and I am a coming up freshman trying to make the team. I have been working my butt off ever since our season ended. Our middle school coach hinted to me the the high school coach is looking at me for strictly a pitcher. I am still worried and know to much nerves will screw with me, any ideas on how to calm yourself down before a day such as this.

I have an anxiety disorder, and I’ve had problems like this all the time. I received this advice recently to try and calm down.

Your brain can only concentrate on one thing at a time. So the key is to take the focus away from your problem -being psyched out- and on to something else.

First thing to do, is to close your eyes, stand or sit still, and take a few deep breaths. Listen to your breathing, and concentrate on it.

If you’re still anxious, then try solving math problems in your head. It’ll take your focus away. Do your times tables.

I’ve been doing the alphabet thing lately, where I link the alphabet with a current pitcher’s last name. Bronson Arroyo, Eric Bedard, etc…If you get to Z, then start again, but with a position player, or a hall of famer. It helps calm me down, especially at about the letter E.

High School tryouts??? Where in the heck are you???

Honestly any youth coach that is saying that they “know” or “hinted” that they know what the high school coach is coach is looking for is just playing make believe.

Honestly, go with the idea that you are the perfect player for them and that you are just the player they are looking for. Never say to the coach, “My other team”, “my other coach”, or “that’s not the way we did it before”. Just do what they want you to do, make the adjustments that they want and be the best you can be.

Did not make it