Andrew Pitching

My son asked me to put up a video of his mechanics to see what everybody thinks. He is a high school freshman standing 5 ft 9in and weighing 135 pounds. He has topped out at 82 MPH and is consistently 78-80 MPH. All I have right now are slo motion videos.

lovin the mechanics, looks like koufax, feller, lots of rotation, good arm action, if it works for him i almost wouldnt change a thing, it looks great.

Slewy…

Looks very good to me (especially from about 8 seconds on). Just a question for the experts…should he be leading with his hip sooner? In other words, it appears through about 7 seconds that he is not moving to the plate (almost leaning back or straight up). I admit that I’m not an expert and I certainly don’t want to cause harm here, but it seems that he should be moving forward much sooner. Looks really good, though. Very athletic.

Looks good, love the converse by the way :lol:

He love the Converse Chucks also. He is now working out barefooted but likes MY Chucks to pitch and run in as they give hime a little padding but not too much.

We love the Chucks at our facility too. I wear them when I pitch and my javelin thrower wears them while doing anything conditioning-related. Low-top is the way to go. :wink:

Nice delivery. His velocity is excellent for his age; well ahead of where I was back then.

Couple minor things:

1. As you step back and pivot to start the delivery, try to get that posting foot lined up alongside the rubber a little more.

2. It’s tough to tell if you’re lifting your leg or swinging your foot up into the posting position. I generally prefer the first.

3. Good position at footstrike, but the deep shoulder tilt backwards that starts during the pivot and continues right up to footstrike is too aggressive in my opinion. I’d like to see some leveling out of the shoulders throughout this phase, which would keep the head/chin down.

Can you post some other angles and full speed?