Analyze my sons video PLEASE! He's 14

We are just starting to seriously look at his mechanics. We filmed the video to look at hip/shoulder separation. While videoing we saw a few other things but we need your help to point out the good points and bad.
Please Help,

Thank you!!

[/img]

Better control of posture and the glove side will enable him to delay shoulder rotation thus allowing the hips to fully rotate before shoulder rotation (i.e. increasing hip and shoulder separation).

Getting the hips moving foward sooner (i.e. before peak of knee lift) will also help.

I’m new to this. I do see the hips need to start moving before peak knee lift. I also see his glove side never extended and found a balance with his throwing arm, but can you explain control of posture and glove side for me.

Thanks for the comment

I’ll let Roger tell you about the glove side thing (We both are in agreement on that and it is crucial). I’d like for him to “start” right, notice his foot on the rubber? It is important to properly orient his body. The reason he has to clear his head (Move it out of the way) is that his glove side issue effects timing as well and if he’s to get his arm through on time to delivery something has to give…i.e. the ol brain bucket. Also it looks like he’s not getting his front foot down before his arm starts forward (Another timing issue).
I’m going to drop a vid of some drill work my son did with former ML’er Rick Wilkins, at one point in the vid you’ll actually see Rick take Andy (My son) to task for improper plate orientation :lol: pay particular attention to the 3rd set of drills (Called step-behinds) they are great for working on form and timing.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jdfromfla#p/u/14/mP6DKeAsAC0