Amount of reps

i am not seeing any improvements in my lower body strength with the lower reps i am doing. i follow the tuffcuff phase 4 template but i am doing 4x3 for squats and deads which i have added. i saw great results out of the 3x8. i’ve been doing lower reps for 2 months in weight training at school and im just not seeing results.

do you think i should go back to the 3x8 or follow phase 4 exactly as it is. my weight training class ends tomorrow so i will be able to do whatever.
thanks

Muscles adapt very quickly. The concept that you should only lift heavy with low reps to make gains is flawed. It is very taxing on a muscle group to lift close to your max every single week. The muscles tend to adapt to the stress of the heavy lifts and do not have ample time to grow. Instead, leave “something in the tank” the first few weeks as increase each week… see below.
T
ry this approach. For the next 4 weeks, squat or deadlift 5 sets of 5 reps starting at 60% of your 1RM (one rep max) - Increasing the weight by 5% with every set. So for example - week one should have 5 sets consisting of 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, and 80% of your 1RM. The next week, increase the weight to 65%, 70%, 80%, 85%, and 90% and so on, increasing by 5% each week.

By week 4, you should be able bust through that plateau and make those gains.

This way, your muscles are not completely taxed every week and are more inclined to grow and build strength.

I actually find that low rep sets are incredibly taxing to the central nervous system, but not that taxing on the actual muscles themselves. I’m rarely sore from doing heavy 5x3 squats, but a high rep set of 8-10 and I’m guaranteed some moderate soreness at least for the next couple days

I agree that high weight is tough of the central nervous system too…but soreness does not necessarily indicate you will be gaining strength.