Am I Pitching hard enough?

I am a 14 year old freshman,RHP,I throw low 80’s 78-82.I have a 12-6 curve that drops from the neck to the belly button (65-68 mph.)I also have a circle change that is about 67-70 mph.)I came into freshman year throw tops 70 and worked all offseason with weightlifting and working on my mechanics to throw low 80’s constantly.Half way through my freshman year I am in the varsity rotation and have an ERA of 2.33,Teams don’t usually get more than 5 hits off me when i start.As a senior i want to be throwing 93+ with the circle change and 12-6 curve.At this pace do you think I can reach my goal?

As far as I know, an 80+ mph fastball as a freshman is well above average. Adding a circle change and 12/6, that is very good. Keep working like you have been and things should work your way. Good Luck!

You could. You could also just be an early bloomer and never gain any velo ever again.

Get to know yourself. You’re on your way so stay focused, and know when you can give more, whether on the field or in the weightroom. Don’t abuse, you are really young so you could keep growing it. The key is PATIENCE and solid mechanics

You’re not looking to see if you’re throwing hard enough, you’re looking for a pat on the back.

The fact that you made varsity as a freshman should tell you something, no?

How many other freshman made varsity?

Therein lies your answer.

The fact that you can recite so many of your stats and speeds precisely tells me you’re more than aware of what the average velocity for a freshman is.

Thank God you’re physically gifted enough to throw that hard that young.

Cross your fingers that you haven’t physically peaked though.

Oh, and one more thing…humility is always an asset.

My 14 year old son trains with another fourteeen year old that’s throwing 90 right now.

Using HIM as a barometer, you have quite a ways to go.