Advice on upper body workouts

With the HS season over, it’s time for me to get serious and hit the weights. I’m a sophomore and up to this point, I’m pretty much running on natural ability, but still having success (80-85mph). I’m scared that if I do too many arm workouts, I’ll lose flexibility and velocity.

What do you recommend is the right amount of working out for each specific area? (biceps, triceps, shoulders)

And which workouts are good and bad?

Lastly, would I be better off not worrying about those areas and just focusing on things like back, butt, and legs?

Thanks thanks thanks!

ps. I am doing Jobe work w/ light dumbbells and tubing on a daily basis.

Its an important asset to work out all your muscles in your body, upper and lower. You can’t just workout your chest and biceps, you need to work out your back and triceps to balance them out.

if you’re throwing 80-85 having never really weight trained before…you’re in for some serious velocity gains.

You need a balanced program that addresses your specific strengths and weaknesses.

You CAN try to come up with one on your own, and that is a viable option. It’s what I did from my sophomore year through the summer before my senior year.

During this time I gained moderate strength, going from maybe 160-174, but after I actually hired a GOOD strength coach, got a really thorough program and had somebody to talk to and troubleshoot with, I went from 174 to 194 from last june to thanksgiving. I would have gained a lot more too, if not for a 3 month long bicep tendon issue.

If you are able, i’d strongly suggest seeking out the programming advice of a top strength and conditioning coach, preferably one who works with a lot of baseball players.

In this regard, eric cressey would be your go to guy IMO, but there are others in the field too who would be good bets.