Adjusting from flat ground to a mound

Hey, I’m new at LTP :D.

I’m a Junior in highschool and I picked up a baseball and started pitching since I was a Freshmen. I’m a bit late but I felt I wasn’t ready if I were to try out the year before. I’ve never pitched off a mound before and my parents never really took notice of my interest in baseball. I’ve asked my dad to bring me to a mound somewhere but he hasn’t tried I guess.

Anyways, I haven’t pitched the past few weeks but before then I had good control of my fastball, a good fast breaking curveball (In my opinion), slider, splitter, and an on and off 3 finger changeup. I’ve been working with the lower part of the plate and I’m able to hit my spots very well on flat ground.

I want to try out for the baseball team at my school in February and I’m curious, would I be able to adjust quickly when I step up on the mound to try out? What else? And how different was your experience stepping up and pitching on a mound for the first time. I’m just afraid that when I try out, it’ll look like I never pitched in my life.

In my opinion, pitching off a mound is easier. I feel like I can really come downhill. I also get a farther stride, so my control is better. You should be fine. i would recommend getting on a mound several times before tryouts just so you can get a feel for them. Good luck!

If possible, show up early and ask to warm up on the mound. Or you can just go to a local batting cage and see if they have a mound that you can use.

Throwing off a mound should increase your velocity, and just generally make everything flow easier.

I’ll push my dad to bring me to a mound somewhere. Thanks, Jimster. You’ve built up my confidence. I still have around 2 months to prepare so I think I’m in good shape. I’m not good at batting though so I could work on that too.

I don’t think I can show up early either Johnny, reason being, tryouts begin right after school I’ve noticed.