A few more pitching q's

1. What is Scap Loading?
  2. When I step forward to pitch i lunge so i can get it higher in the zone. I see most pitchers with a stiff leg in front… What am i SUPPOSED to do and why?
  3. Are the Rawling CROLB balls you get at Sports Authority bad balls?
  4. I have never pitched off a nice mound or in cleats… is it really necessary?
  5. Can anyone throw a big 9-3 (NOT 3-9 slider) or anything close to it?

I want to be a breaking ball pitcher since i don’t pitch against any high level players. I was actually inspired be Zita Carno’s “Snake Jazzer” title. Sure i can probably fend them off with a decent fastball/curveball combo, but thats no fun (even in street ball) =]

Are there any other breaking ball “masters” here? I’m just a novice looking for some new ventures in life.

Thanks in advance for your time and advice.

Hello there, tiki510. This is the “snake jazzer” speaking.
I think I can answer a couple of your questions and give you some tips regarding what it is you want to do. First—I figure you’re a low-ball pitcher and you want to get some of your pitches up in the zone. Good idea; every once in a while you’ll find yourself facing a very good low-ball hitter and you want to get him to chase some pitches up and out of the strike zone, or you’ve found out that he can’t hit a high fast ball or whatever so you can go after him with a high pitch. One of the best ways to do this is to learn a short-arm delivery—my old pitching coach had picked that one up when he had been with the White Sox, and he taught me how to use it. Simply put, as you deliver the pitch you pull your arm in closer to your body, as opposed to the full long-arm motion. This will give you twice as many pitches. You work with that for a whiule and you’ll get the hang of it.