9u pitcher -- what next?

Hello I am the mom of a 9u pitcher who is playing select/travel ball this spring. I am completely new to the world of baseball, so bear with me. My son is one of the go-to pitchers on his team. He has done several private pitching lessons and the instructor says his mechanics are outstanding. His strike percentage is out of this world. Yesterday he was throwing close to 80%. From what I understand his speed is decent at 45mph. We were scrimmaging against an older team and I think because of the relatively slower pitch speed they were able to hit a lot of his throws which I think he found to be frustrating. Anyway, what next? Do we just hang tight and wait for him to get taller and stronger or should we be doing something else?? Pitching instructor doesn’t think there is much more he can do for him at this point. (Of course he can use some help on his batting, but that’s a whole 'nother story! :D)

At this age, I always recommend camps and clinics, preferrably college camps but hs camps can be ok too. The idea is to associate with players who have great mechanics, so your kid can be exposed to how they move athletically. Its also a lot of fun which focuses on teaching fundementals. Your pitching coach was right, there isn’t a ton more to it for a little guy, after puberty, IF he has the passion, then I’d say its time to return to the pitching coach. It will save you a lot of money and as long as you keep going to camps and clinics, his skills will not be negatively impacted (as long as he keeps playing).

Just wait. Being a strike thrower means he is going to get hit. Most kids on travel teams can hit strikes. (It is why they look so good in bp when the coaches throw :smiley: )

His job is to throw strikes and thank his defense between innings for their help.

Enjoy the games!

Enjoy these days and have fun.