9 year old pitching video - feedback

Hi All,

Here is the video of my 9 year old son pitching in the backyard. He likes pitching and wants to pitch on his team, but I have been hesitant to talk to the coach. I have very little background in baseball so I am not able to tell if he is doing anything wrong. All I have him do is focus on the target and practice. Any feedback from anyone (coach, parent, high school students) will be highly welcome. All I am looking for is some drills that I could practice with him at home in the backyard

I’ll let others offer their comments on mechanics, but from my vantage point it looks like his glove is way too large for him and his concentration on managing his glove transcends into coordination issues with his upper body.

Thanks for your comment Coach Baker. The glove is size 11.5. He has been wearing it for a year now. His last glove was 10.5 and his coach last year suggested to get one size higher. I can try with last year’s glove.

I am not really sure what is he doing wrong that needs to corrected… I am just seeking some guidance so that he does not get into any bad habits

Somehow, the glove size that you mentioned shouldn’t present a problem. However, like I mentioned, looking at his managing the glove does look awkward. But then again, my perspective does have its limitations.

I’m curious though why his coach would recommend a larger glove? Did this coach tell you why? Did this coach point out certain things that your son should or should not be doing?

Could you post some video of your son just playing catch? Nothing special with respect to a pitcher’s motion, just some relaxed movements on your son’s part. Try a distance of no greater than 40 feet. Let’s see how he moves without trying to be letter perfect pitching wise.