9 year old pitcher-- be honest what does he need to work on

He is having trouble with his control velocity is ok.

Also pitch count is a concern. I have him at 80 pitches max 1x a week.
suggestions

Thanks

My son is 9 yrs old as well and I studied/read up/ordered all the dvds/e-books that I thought were worthwhile over the winter for his first year of live pitching.

You’re son shows alot of the similar traits as my son did when he started to pitch early in the year/indoor training.

Right now I would say your son is more throwing the ball that pitching.

Key things I would work on:

1. He needs to use his front glove as a stabilizer/aiming guide. Its flying away when he pitches which pulls this pitching arm off target. Work on opposite and equal (pitch arm and glove arm), after landing have his glove stabilize in front of him and have his body/chest move towards his glove.

2. His stride needs to lengthen (ideally 90-100% of his height) but that’s hard for a 9 year old especially on level ground but a longer stride should help him stabilize himself and help with the next point.

3. His backfoot is coming off the ground at ball release (I tell me boys that they look like a tea pot at release). Its hard to be consistent with only one foot on the ground. The short stride compounds this as his weight shift/rotation is almost pulling his back foot off.

4. After landing and when he’s going into rotation, he leads with shoulders. He should lead with his hips and have his shoulders follow. Only 2 boys on our team can get any amount of hip/shoulder separation and others are turning both together. That’s a function of their physical maturity at this age. Some kids get it and some kids just can’t do it yet however it should be reinforced.

Work on the above and then if you can get some views from the 3b side, maybe we can see a little more.

Thanks,
Al