9 year old 'long arm' pitch...how to fix?

My boy is 9 years old and getting into pitching but he has this weird long-arm thing he does when he throws and I’m not sure if this is okay or should I work on him now to change it? Any suggestions on what to do if anything? Also, any other suggestions to tweak on his form?
Thanks.

The long arm does look strange but at his age, with a little work you should be able to fix that fairly simple. I am not a pro instructor so i cant say how. Your son is only 9? He has promise.

I wouldn’t get too concerned about the arm at this age. As he grows and adds strenght and the rest of his mechanics improve, I think you’ll see the arm take care of itself.

Thanks for the replys. Yep, he’s 9 and the tallest on his team of 10 year olds. Just wish he’d grow into his limbs and get some coordination one of these days.

What about his separation? Is he breaking too soon, before he raises his knee? Should he be raising his knee and then separating to throw?

He may grow into a “slinger” type of arm action if he stays the way he is. Not that that’s a bad thing, just different.

You may want to address his timing of the hand break. Break them later when the knee starts down so there is some synchronization between his upper/lower half.

Get a “running start” with the hands (when the leg starts up, then hands go up, when it starts down, the hands go down and then break to throw). This is another rhythm/timing thing that will help.

You should also consider just having him long toss, with a crop hop, and see how that develops his rhythm and timing (along with his arm strength). Don’t try to “look like a pitcher” just see how far he can throw it. After doing that for a while some muscle memory may develop that will assist in better timing when he gets on the mound (again…don’t “look like a pitcher”…THROW the ball).