9 year old curve ball

want to get some opinions on a 9 year old throwing a curve ball. my son started seeing a pitching coach once a week about 3 months ago and he just started teaching him a curve. he already throws 2 and 4 seam and change up. his mechanics are very good his spead is above average not overpowering. when I questioned the coach on the curve he replied that his mechanics are good enough and that his arm speed is not fast enough to hurt himself. he only lets him throw it under his supervision at practice approx. 8-12 times. it does break o.k. needs tighter spin. any opinions?

Luky,
Wow…
I’ve been a coach at all levels for upwards of 25 years, trained/interned with a pretty darn good D-1 school, whose head coach has coached 2 different olympic squads as well as winning a sub-D-1 WS prior to stepping up to D-1, 2 years ago, whose pitching coach has been through Perdue, Jacksonville University and minor league ball, I am closely in touch with one of the guys who caught Maddux’s first Cy, and his pitching director who threw professionally in the Toranto orginization, I’ve written and participated on message boards and forums for several years. I have never, ever, seen anyone recommend teaching a 9 yr old to throw a curve.

It would seem he’s being groomed for heavy travel ball involvement (Where else would a 9 yr old even need a curve)…it’s your kid, money and time and not my business to tell you how to use or spend it…so I won’t but…Wow.

Your kid is prolly all excited about throwing it right??? Well, he is 9 and does not know what he is talking about.

Your the dad, and you should know that a 9 year old should not being throwing a freakig curveball!!! I mean he!!, has your head been buried in the sand the past 20 years? Have you not heard all the horror stories of blowing out and ruining arms??

You shouldn’t even be thinking about letting him throw it at 9 years old.