8 Year Old Son - Tips Please.. :)

I don’t know where to start… So much LOOKS wrong to me lol… But he has what I’d consider great command & hones in on the strike zone… He lacks some power though, and now that I see the video, I’m thinking the fact that his right leg isn’t following through doesn’t help… What else is wrong here…? Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

Any idea where I should start? His follow through? His elbow? His glove? Any advice is much appreciated.

:smiley:

im no pro but that kid should start from finding a good pitching stance and learning the most basic pitching mechanics. If you search on youtube how to pitch or basic pitching mechanicals thats the best way to start. He’s still young so it’ll be way easier for him to adjust and change his pitching style. Good thing your doing this earlier than later.
Goodluck.

Tom House’s approach, with respect to your son, might be briefly summarized thus:

1. Start with his starting posture. Adopt a beginning posture that is stable and balanced–“free-throw” bend at the knees–and keep that basic posture through the delivery…that means: No exaggerated head movement up or down, or side-to-side.

Balance and posture is key to starting an efficient delivery and it greatly affects everything that happens downstream in the delivery. Fix the starting posture and balance first.

1. Leg lift and momentum: As I already noted to you in a PM, your son appears to lean or lurch backward during his leg lift…undoubtedly emulating what he thinks Bob Feller was doing back in the day…

Instead, IMO, your son should be shifting weight forward, leading with his front hip, as his leg is lifting. There should be no “stop-at-the-top” of his leg lift. Most kids are not functionally strong and balanced enough to get their momentum restarted and redirected to home plate after they have leaned backwards or “stopped-at-the-top”.