60 yard dash

Was wondering if anyone had any recomendations to improving ones sprint time. I’m basically interested in improving my 60. So far this off season I have been able to shave off a little bit of time (1/10 or 2/10 of a second max)
This while I have managed to get myself from about 125 (september) to 141 (now). Is this substaintial or not. I’m still not at all pleased with my time.
I’m sitting at around 8.3, 8.2. I’m only a freshman, and the fact I’ve been growing doesn’t help my case but I really want peoples opinions.

Anyone have any specific programs they’d suggest, or training tools such as running chutes or something.

Lastly doing some looking around I was wondering what anyone thought about the dynamics of sprinting itself whether fast twitch fibers that everyone is talking abuot is as key as they make it sound, or if their other ways to go about it.

Thanks

An 8.2 or 8.3 60 sounds bad, it’s really no, especially if your only a freshman. If you have decent speed but arn’t quick you might want to work on quickness to improve the speed in the first 10 yards making the overal 60 faster. If quickness is not a problem and your just not that fast then you’ll need to work on overal speed. Run sprints, not just from 60 yards, but from other distances too. Also make sure you have good form.

run downhill 2 days a week, a relatively steep hill

i’ve never used the parachute but if you have spare cash to pick one up then I say go for it…I’d really like to buy one with two parachutes to work on my speed with but once you get in your 20’s and have a few things to pay for like insurance, college, bills, etc…u can’t go out and buy every toy you want :frowning:

if you do pick one of those up let me know how it works tho

Well, I turned in an 8.1, which is definately an improvement, but still far short. My build would suggest I’m fast, and getting beat by some of the “bigger guys” isn’t necessarily where I’d like to be.