30 days till 1st game of the Middle School Season

We have 30 days till we play our first game. During the off season we have done some weight room work but not alot. My question is this, In the past we have ran our practices with all the players grouped together and it seems to not be very efficent (25 players 2 coaches). This year I would like to divide the infield, outfield and pitchers into groups and each have their own routine after we get the general conditioning drills done. I have 2 assistants this year). Is this a wise idea? Or should we do each drill as a group. I say we should divide up, but my assistants believe we should work together. Also my assistants believe that we should do long running at the start of practice I feel the long running should be done at the end. What is the common belief on this. Does it matter? Just to let you know this is my 3 year as a Head coach so I am still learning. I believe no matter how old we get we still need to be open to new ideas.

Coach,

I would agree that thre are some drills that you can do as a large group but practices are more efficient and fun when things move along quickly. When guys are standing around waiting they lose interest.

Here is what we used :

1. Everyone jog the perimeter of the field.

2. Everyone light sprint home to 1st, then home to 2nd.

3. Everyone light stretch, arm circles, crunches, twists etc.

4. Everyone light catch/ LT 60,90,120,60.
    Total time 15-20 minutes & everyone is properly warmed up.

5. Team hitting drills:
    Break everyone into four stations: (5-6 players / station)
    10 swings per player per station then group rotates to next station, coaches remain at their assigned station.
    Station#1. Coach #1- Soft toss into net
    Station #2. Coach #2- Thunder Stick with plastic golf balls
    Station #3. Coach #3 - Atec balls
    Station # 4 - Players - Bunting station
    Total Time : 15-20 minutes

Infield / Outfield / Bull Pens: