3 Baseball Tips That Youth Baseball Players Can Do Without!

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Man do I ever get push back on the “end up in fielding position” thing…my response is usually…how much arm/injury did Maddux save with those 16 Gold Gloves???

So you encourage getting into fielding position because of Greg Maddux.

I forgot to teach those three things. :o

Is there any hope?

I consider him the most obvious example as why ending up there is a good thing, I wouldn’t say hes why I think that way.

I am new to coaching and have been trying to absorb much knowledge, lessons and techniques as I can while trying to integrate those with an 8-10 year olds maturation and development levels. The L is one we instruct but I admit my heart isn’t totally into it. Personally, I throw that way, but it was introduced to me when I was a sophomore in high school. Is it as effective for players who havent hit a growth spurt yet?

Regardless, I am very hard pressed to see it done systematically across all baseball levels.

How do I fight a kid’s experience seeing Craig Kimbrel or Jose Valerde closing the door on their teams wins?

What are your referring to when you mention the two MLB pitchers?

The behind the ear releases mostly but there appear to be several other “unconventional” issues.

The kids see these highlights constantly thanks to MLBN and mlb.com

Just saw the articel thinktank, gotta say I enjoyed it.

Many travel ball coaches tried to get my son into that fielding position at finish. Never worked and caused discussions between the coaches and me, some heated.

One genius actually told me that I needed to change pitching coaches cause my son would never advance to HS ball as a pitcher, because he throws low three quarter and doesn’t get to that precious “L” position. Uh yeah, he was wrong.

Parents, be careful who coaches your sons.