19 y/o Video Analysis

I recently posted a video of my pitching from about a year ago. This is my bullpen from last week. I know my front foot opens too much but I’m working on it. FB at 84-87. Change at 70-73. Thoughts? I’d appreciate it a lot!! I’m a freshman in college… D3 right now… Considering a transfer at some point but not sure yet.

If this video doesn’t show up, just click the link… thanks!

Focus on your stride foot plant. It’s so important.

As I’ve said before, you want to land with your toes slightly closed or pointing to your target. You’re landing way open, which means your hips are also opening too soon and you’re losing a lot a power:

Use some white athletic tape to tape off a straight line from the middle of the rubber down the mound about 6 feet and land with your toes on that line (or slightly inside that line), with your toes to the target. Every time you throw a bullpen, put the athletic tape down – takes like 15 seconds to do.

Thanks for the reply. I have heard that so many times in the past couple years and I have tried a bunch of things including putting tape and trying to land. I can land square without opening up when I think about it, but when it comes to live pitching, I haven’t been able to overcome the natural instinct to open up. Not sure why. My coach said it’s not a good mechanic to have but thinks I have naturally taught myself how to make up for it with my upper body. I’ve had this problem for a couple years and I have had some pretty good seasons pitching. Obviously if i can fix it, hopefully they can be even better.

My suggestion for you is to look earlier in your delivery for the cause of your front foot orientation. If you don’t solve the true cause, then it will continue to occur.