12YO Ver. 2.0

My son’s instructor and I have been emphasising more rotation and creating hip/shoulder seperation. We’re eager to learn if the forum sees any improvement.

Thanks,
OHdad

While I’m not the expert, it looks like you have other issues. It looks like you son makes the inverted W. (This might make some people mad) Personally, I don’t think that is too good. Some experts agree.

BTW, the inverted W is when you bring your elbow up above your hand and your thumb points down.

BUT, like I said, I’m no expert. Go ask Leo Mazzone.

[quote=“Bakersdozen”]While I’m not the expert, it looks like you have other issues. It looks like you son makes the inverted W. (This might make some people mad) Personally, I don’t think that is too good. Some experts agree.

BTW, the inverted W is when you bring your elbow up above your hand and your thumb points down.

BUT, like I said, I’m no expert. Go ask Leo Mazzone.[/quote]

Your son is wearing a red shirt. That makes me mad. I’m sure I could find someone that agrees.

Really not bad at all especially considering he’s a 12 yo. It seems like he reaches a bit with his front foot rather than leading with his front hip to build momentum. Thats the one thing that kinda came to mind watching the clip.

I dont see the inverted W too much

I received the following from my son’s coach. Spot on analysis in my book. Your thoughts?

Tim

On the side view, Andy is loading up okay with his body but not his
arm. 3 things need to be corrected still.

1. The Elbow is coming thru too low below his shoulder. When he keeps
    his elbow up like he did the other nite he fires the ball and when that
    elbow drops it comes in slower.

2. The reason the elbow is too low is because of his separation. Notice
    how the elbow is not getting up with the ball in the "high cocked"
    position and then coming thru below the shoulder. You can also notice
    this from the rear view video. Notice how the “pinch” with the