10 Year Old 1st Inning

This is the first inning of tonight’s game and is typical of how he pitches during a game. Any glaring weakness that he can work on to improve his mechanics? He throws mainly fastballs, and his pitch dives in on RH hitters making it difficult for RH to get a good hit. What he does seems to be fairly efficient: In 13 innings this year he’s given up 3 hits, 5 walks and has 24 Ks.

Thanks. I know there’s much he will learn between now and HS, and he will always need to make adjustments as his body matures.

i’m not a pro myself but i teach 11-12yr olds. many of our pitchers started out pretty much like this kid. good basic stuff for his age. what i taught the pitchers that look like your son is some simple fun things:

1) the slide: bring the lead leg up, then drop it down towards the ground (about 4-6 inches above the ground), then slide it towards the catcher (without touching the ground). mechanics to watch? the foot doesn’t point towards the catcher until the last second. the stride should be as big as possible. i check the kid’s height and give them a goal of 80-100% of their height as a stride length. put a marker on the ground where they land and have them try to get out further until they eventually reach their goal (this will take a while).

in the video, your son drops his leg from a high point instead of sliding lower to the ground.

1. the chicken wing: i set the kids in a position where their glove side elbow aims at the target and have them pull their elbow to their side to start the throw. what this does is keeps their glove close to their chest after throw to protect their upper body from a hit ball coming back at them.

2. the pick pocket: the kids practice throwing softly and having their arm follow through to their glove side pocket. i believe this drill was designed to help relieve arm stress during the slow down after release.