This happened in one of our games a couple summers ago and the other coach was going crazy saying it was a balk and you have to throw it to second base.
Unless there was a "Local" rule that governed that league - there is no balk. Also to consider, if that pitcher didn't cross the back edge of the rubber with his free foot (assuming he was in the set position) that could have been what that coach was complaining about.
It's not unusual for a pitcher to catch a base runner off second base with too far of a lead, and the nearest player is a short stop .. going from right to left as the base runner advances. However this is just a visual take on that kind of move by the pitcher. In any event, there is nothing in the ORB rule book that says a pitcher can't throw towards an infielder near second or third --- but not covering that particular base(s). Just as long as his move is legal while moving off the rubber.
In fact, a pitcher can toss a ball DIRECTLY TO first base with no first baseman on the bag and the ball can go right over the bag into foul or dead territory without being called a BALK. In that case the ball is a still live, until it gets into dead territory. If the ball was fielded quickly by the first baseman in foul territory and somehow the base runner from 1st hesitated and was caught off the bag at first or second, he could be in jeopardy.